JP Nadda all set to be elected to Rajya Sabha

Larry Hoffman
March 12, 2018

The Congress' support comes after BSP chief Mayawati offered a quid pro quo in Rajya Sabha elections in UP and Madhya Pradesh.

Congress President approved the list for the the March 23 Rajya Sabha polls.

Ashok Bajpai, Vijay Pal Singh Tomar, Sakal Deep Rajbhar, Kanta Kardam, Anil Jain, GVL Narsimha Rao and Harnath Singh Yadav will contest from Uttar Pradesh.

Ketkar, a veteran Marathi journalist and a staunch BJP critic, will fight on a Congress ticket from Maharashtra. The victory of the BJP candidate was a foregone conclusion as it has strength of 44 in the 68-member House, followed by the Congress with 21, BPI (M) with 1 and two independent candidates. What could make it even more hard for him is the fielding of a Vokkaliga Congress candidate, Chandrasekhar, complicating matters for the Vokkaliga dominated JD (S). The BSP, with 19 MLAs, needs 18 more first preference votes to ensure a smooth sail of its nominee, who has already filed his nomination, for the elections to the Upper House of Parliament. The party did not consider a Lingayat for a seat although former minister Shamanur Shivashankarappa's name is said to have been discussed.

Rajeev Chandrasekhar and Sameer Urnav will represent Karnataka while Ajay Pratap Singh and Kailash Sonil are from Madhya Pradesh.

Congress decision to field 3 candidates has crashed the hopes of JD (S) to win one seat with Congress support.

According to an announcement by the BJP general secretary J P Nadda here on Sunday, Mr Rane, a former Sena leader and who was also with Congress since 2005, will be BJP candidate from Maharashtra. The party has preferred local leaders in some key states which are going to polls later this year. The maximum number of candidates (7) have been nominated from Uttar Pradesh, where the party has a firm majority and vacancy of 10 seats. It's a comfort for the BJP state leadership that they got a candidate from within the party itself.

The elections will be held on March 23 and the deadline for submission of nominations is March 12. This despite the lobbying in New Delhi for former Lok Sabha Speaker, Meira Kumar, who also belongs to the same sub-sect, for this seat.

The Union Health Minister's term was scheduled to expire on 2 April.

Other reports by

Discuss This Article