Facebook Messenger Will Now Let You Delete Messages

Joshua Bennett
February 7, 2019

Facebook has started rolling out a new feature giving users the ability to delete sent messages from its Messenger service.

Today, Facebook announced that the new unsend option is now rolling out to the Messenger app on Android and iOS.

All you have to do is click on the incriminating message, which will then bring up the option to "forward", "translate" or "remove" the message.

Facebook finally lets users delete sent messages in personal and group chats on Messenger. However, Facebook is still running its research app on Android phones, encouraging teenagers and users of ages between 15 and 35 to sell their privacy for a fixed charge per month.

The other option that will appear is "Remove for You", which only prevents you from seeing the message, but everyone else in the conversation can still view it. At the time, Facebook told TechCrunch Zuckerberg's messages were deleted for security purposes. Wondering how the feature works? "Starting today, we are launching a feature where you can easily remove your message on Messenger-whether it's to one person or a group".

So how exactly do you access this last-chance redemption option?

You can try it now by tapping and holding on one of your messages until the "Remove" button shows up. Facebook Messenger already provides a Secret Conversations function that has encrypted end to end, but few consumers know about it. Once "removed", the message will not reappear in the draft space.

After selecting 'Remove for Everyone, ' users will get a warning that says: 'You'll permanently remove this message for all chat members. That also means it's still on Facebook's Messenger servers.

The Facebook CEO recounted in the note his "dorm room decision" to launch "a simple website organized around people", which has now grown into a global giant with more than 2 billion active users.

Other reports by

Discuss This Article

FOLLOW OUR NEWSPAPER