"Government 200% Safe": Congress, JDS In Huddle After BJP Wins Karnataka

Larry Hoffman
May 25, 2019

In contrast, AAP, which had won 67 out of the 70 Delhi Assembly seats in 2015, fell from 33 per cent in 2014 to 18.12 per cent in these elections.

In each of the seven constituencies, the BJP candidates had by late afternoon or early evening polled more votes than the Congress and the Aam Aadmi Party combined. Also, the number of seats it has managed to win this time has reduced to 12 - won eight seats and leading on four. In West Bengal, where the party has not performed well in the past, its vote share was 40.3%.

While the picture for the country's opposition looks grim, it is not unusual for political parties in India to rebuild themselves after suffering debilitating losses. Locket Chatterjee, Kirron Kher, Hema Malini and Sunny Deol won seats for the BJP.

The results of the coalition for Karnataka were disastrous, with the JDS and the Congress winning just one seat each. In India, candidates are allowed to contest elections from two seats, one of which they have to relinquish if elected.

Bharatiya Janata Party's leading poll strategist from the Northeast and Assam finance minister Himanta Biswa Sarma had said his party will go ahead with the Citizenship Amendment Bill (CAB) again. Congress which is responsible for the State Bifurcation and BJP which deceived the state without giving a Special Status have registered votes less than NOTA.

The AIUDF led by Badruddin Ajmal in Assam retained the Dhubri Lok Sabha seat.

Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi himself won in Uttar Pradesh's Varanasi with a margin of over 460,000 votes while BJP President Amit Shah won in Gujarat's Gandhinagar by over 550,000 votes.

"People have voted for the work done by Modi government". He is a legislator from Manikpur Assembly seat in the same parliamentary constituency.

The decision comes after reports of current Karnataka government collapsing surfaced as BJP swept the Lok Sabha polls. This is a big boost for the party before the next assembly elections in the state scheduled for 2021. None of the six candidates could make it to Lok Sabha.

NPF, the oldest ally of the BJP in the region, and now not too happy with it, is in the BJP-led government in Manipur. Over a 100 independent filmmakers including Sanal Kumar Sasidharan ("Sexy Durga"), Anand Patwardhan ("Reason") and Gurvinder Singh ("The Fourth Direction") issued a statement urging people not to vote for the BJP, accusing the party of spreading "hate campaigns" and banning or censoring cinema and books.

Other reports by

Discuss This Article